• Embassy of Ethiopia

Ethiopia's candidacy for a Non-Permanent Seat of the UNSC is official launched

Ethiopia's Foreign Affairs Minister, Dr Tedros Adhanom, together with the presence of H.E Mr Erastus Mwencha, Deputy Chair Person of African Union, Ambassador Smail Chergui, Commissioner for Peace and Security of the African Union Commission, Under-Secretary General Haile Menkorios, Special Representative and Head of the United Nations Office to the African Union, has officially launched Ethiopian campaign for a seat as a non-permanent member in the United Nation Security Council for the period of 2017-2018 on Monday, February 29, 2016. This launch is the beginning of a campaign that will last, until the date of election. On the official lunching ceremony commencement Dr Tedros Adhanom said Ethiopia's desire to be a member of the Security Council emanates from a strong and very genuine belief that Ethiopia's solid record of continued contribution to the maintenance of international peace and security puts the country in a well-placed position to shoulder the necessary responsibility. Ethiopia has always responded to UN calls for collective action on international peace and security said Dr Tedros Adhanom. What is more, the Foreign Minster further stated that "If Ethiopia is elected to the Security Council; Ethiopia will serve all members of the United Nations in discharging the charter–mandated responsibilities bestowed upon it in a true spirit of partnership and transparency."  H.E in fact said "We believe we have the commitment, the strength and the ability to offer real and valuable support to multilateralism, and to Pan-Africanism." Upon this occasion several Ambassadors, such as Ambassador Patricia M. Haslach, Ambassador Susanna Moorehead and others who are members of the Addis Ababa-based diplomatic corps and representatives of UN agencies attended the launch. As it can clearly be remembered the Ethiopian government on early January 2016 has shown interest in becoming a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) representing East Africa, which is going to be voted by the UN General assembly. The UNSC has fifteen members consisting of the five permanent members – the United States, Russia, China, France and the United Kingdom – with veto power and 10 non-permanent members, which are elected every two years. Ethiopia is a founding member of the United Nation. Plus Ethiopia has already held two times a seat in the UN Security Council, and thus actively contributed to the development of several innovative tools for conflict management, mediation and peace keeping, peace building.