• Embassy of Ethiopia

Ethiopia and Kenya re-elected to UN Human Rights Council

The General Assembly on Friday elected 18 States to serve on the United Nations Human Rights Council for three-year terms beginning on 1 January 2016. Those elected included Burundi, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Kenya and Togo, as well as Belgium, Ecuador, Georgia, Germany, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Panama, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Slovenia, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates and Venezuela. Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia and Kenya, who had all been previous members of the Human Rights Council, were among those members eligible for immediate re-election. Members of the Council serve for a period of three years and are ineligible for immediate re-election after serving two consecutive terms. The Human Rights Council, based in Geneva, was set up by the Assembly in 2006. The 47 member Council is an inter-governmental body within the UN system responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the globe and for addressing situations of human rights violations and making recommendations on them.